The History of the Mental Health Professional Group

The MHPG began as a small group of people who met each other at the ASRM Annual Meeting in 1985 and 1986. Three of our original members, Dorothy Greenfeld, Linda Applegarth and Sharon Covington, as well as others, identified a need to address the mental health issues of patients experiencing infertility; to expand scientific and clinical knowledge of the field; and to educate and establish guidelines for mental health professionals practicing in the brave new world of assisted reproductive technologies. There have been many changes and challenges in the technology in ART and the psychosocial issues patients and clinicians face since the inception of MHPG. Our MHPG leadership has been and will continue to be instrumental in leading us forward in the years to come.

Year as Chair    Chair
 1987-1988    Patricia Honea-Fleming, Ph.D.
 1988-1989    David Curole, M.D.
 1989-1990    Sharon Covington, MSW, LCSW-C
 1990-1991    Linda Applegarth, Ed.D.
 1991-1992    Susan Mikesell, Ph.D.
 1992-1993    David Adamson, M.D.
 1993-1994    Linda Hammer Burns, Ph.D.
 1994-1995    Dorothy Greenfeld, LCSW
 1995-1996    Susan Klock, Ph.D.
 1996-1997    Andrea Braverman, Ph.D.
 1997-1998    Alice Domar, Ph.D.
 1998-1999    Carolyn Mazure, Ph.D.
 1999-2000    Deidra Rausch, Ph.D.
 2000-2001    Miriam Rosenthal, M.D.
 2001-2002    Madeline Feingold, Ph.D.
 2002-2003    Jean Benward, LCSW
 2003-2004    Joann Galst, Ph.D.
 2004-2005    Bill Petok, Ph.D.
 2005-2006    Jan Stout, Ph.D.
 2006-2007    Peggy Orlin, MS, MFT
 2007-2008    Elizabeth Grill, Psy.D.
 2008-2009    Kris Bevilacqua, Ph.D.
 2009-2010    Janet Takefman, Ph.D.
 2010-2011    Corinne Palatchi, Ph.D.
 2011-2012    Julianne Zweifel, Ph.D.
 2012-2013    Mary Riddle, Ph.D.
 2013-2014    Claudia Pascale, Ph.D.
 2014-2015    Piave Lake, M.D.
 2015-2016    Angela Lawson, Ph.D.
 2016-2017    Shelley Lee, Ph.D.
 2017-2018    Erica Mindes, Ph.D.
 2018-2019    Tara Simpson, Psy.D.
 2019-2020  Anne Malave, Ph.D.
 2020-2021 Lauren Berman, Ph.D.